The Stepping Stone Cycle

An episodic series of cosmic horror novellas by the acclaimed author of The Bridge Chronicles


The Stepping Stone Cycle is an episodic series of cosmic horror novels with its roots in the Cthulhu Mythos of H.P. Lovecraft. The first novella, First Stone, is due to be released in late November of 2013 exclusively as an eBook. The series follows Dr. Jack Carter, a forensic pscyhologist suspected of killing his wife after he wakes from a year-long spell of amnesia in a mental hospital. Below you will find a list of all the novellas in the first season, as well as links to read sample chapters from the books. To get your copy of the books, go to the Buy My Books page.


First Stone

  • First Stone, Episode 1 of the Stepping Stone Cycle - Cosmic horror in the Cthulhu Mythos
  • The Metal Black, Episode 2 of the Stepping Stone Cycle - Cosmic horror in the Cthulhu Mythos
  • Drowned-Cover
  • Memory Void Cover web
  • Episodes 1-3

Books by Gary A. Ballard

Under the Amoral Bridge  The Know Circuit  if [tribe] =  The Long and the Short Swords Reclamation  Tales from the Bridge Chronicles First Stone The Metal Black - Episode 2 of The Stepping Stone Cycle - Cosmic Horror Drowned

All of my books are available as eBooks (various formats), with some available in print-on-demand paperbacks as well. Click here to Buy my other Books.